ABout us

Telfer's top resource for finance opportunities. We aim to expose students to the rapidly expanding finance industry through unique opportunities such as networking events, case competitions, and a trip to Toronto's financial district. With a member base of over 300 students and counting, we bridge top business talents to leading professionals in the field.

 
 
 
 

New

FRESHII.png

 

 

Members get a 10% discount at the Freshii restaurant on campus by showing their membership card and student ID.

Our Events

speaker series

Our Speaker Series welcomes leading professionals and educators from several institutions to share their knowledge and experiences with eager students. The event begins with a Q&A panel of 4 speakers, and then students break into groups to connect with each speaker through speed networking. Our Speaker Series happened October 4th, 2017.

 

toronto trip

Our 2017 Toronto Trip took place November 24th-25th. It gives our members a chance to visit several major financial firms in the area. This is an opportunity to get a first-hand look at potential positions in the financial industry, and helps them make career choices.

 

Lima01.jpg

TMx CDS case competition

Our annual TMX CDS Case Competition is an inter-universities case competition organized and hosted by the Finance Society. The competition invites top business students from renowned universities across Canada such as McGill and Waterloo. The competition also draws exposure from a wide variety of businesses and has welcomed many elite industry executives.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Our annual general meeting is perfect way  to meet our executive team and get more information about all the events we have programmed for our students. Our 2017 Annual General Meeting took place September 19th. 

Telfer internal case competition

The Telfer Internal Case Competition (TICC) is a one-day competition,  bringing together students and giving them the opportunity to compete in a rigorous case in their category of choice. Its mission is clear: to provide Telfer undergraduate business students with an intellectually enriching opportunity to apply their in-class knowledge to complex business cases, all while showcasing their presentation skills and networking with industry leaders. The 2018 TICC took place February 3rd.

 

 

 

Resources

Here at the The Telfer Finance Society, we assist our students and help them perform at the highest financial level possible.

 
 
375720_10100708138877026_969389907_n.jpg

Telfer Finance LAB

The financial research and learning lab is a high quality learning environment and a data resource centre used to support research and experiential learning at the University of Ottawa. The Lab is designed to emulate a laboratory professional trading features and real-time industry-standard products in public and private environments where finance is practiced.

 
BreakingBayStreet-Header-1024x131-1.jpg

BREAKING BAY STREET 

Saying you want to be an investment banker is one thing… getting a job offer is another. To come out a winner, you need to get an edge on your competition. That’s why BreakingBayStreet was created, a hub for aspiring capital markets professionals offering every resource you could possibly need to prepare for interviews. 

Thank you to our 2017-2018 sponsors!

Gold

 
 

Bronze

RBC.png
CPAlogo.png
CLV Group logo.jpg

Special Thanks

P&G.jpeg

If you would like to hear more about our sponsorship opportunities, please contact us by sending an email to president@financesociety.ca

Thank you to the photographer Robert Greeley for the pictures!

  Bithanya Lemma   President  bithanya.lemma@financesociety.ca

Bithanya Lemma

President

bithanya.lemma@financesociety.ca

  Shiza Shahzad   VP Finance  shiza.shahzad@financesociety.ca

Shiza Shahzad

VP Finance

shiza.shahzad@financesociety.ca

  Ilana Lander   VP Sponsorship  ilana.lander@financesociety.ca

Ilana Lander

VP Sponsorship

ilana.lander@financesociety.ca

  Alain Azar   VP Events  alain.azar@financesociety.ca

Alain Azar

VP Events

alain.azar@financesociety.ca

  Valeriya Voloshyna   VP Events  valeriya.voloshyna@financesociety.ca

Valeriya Voloshyna

VP Events

valeriya.voloshyna@financesociety.ca

  Jonathan Khov   Director of Academics  jonathan.khov@financesociety.ca

Jonathan Khov

Director of Academics

jonathan.khov@financesociety.ca

  Lauren Hamilton   First Year Representative  lauren.hamilton@financesociety.ca

Lauren Hamilton

First Year Representative

lauren.hamilton@financesociety.ca

  Sabine Tambay   VP Internal Affairs  sabine.tambay@financesociety.ca

Sabine Tambay

VP Internal Affairs

sabine.tambay@financesociety.ca

  Gaëlle Faye   Strategic Consultant  gaelle.faye@financesociety.ca

Gaëlle Faye

Strategic Consultant

gaelle.faye@financesociety.ca

  Michael Christie   First Year Representative  michael.christie@financesociety.ca

Michael Christie

First Year Representative

michael.christie@financesociety.ca

  Georgi Hannas   VP Marketing  georgi.hannas@financesociety.ca

Georgi Hannas

VP Marketing

georgi.hannas@financesociety.ca

  Rohan Kumar   Strategic Consultant  rohan.kumar@financesociety.ca

Rohan Kumar

Strategic Consultant

rohan.kumar@financesociety.ca

  Piper Hannas   VP Academic  piper.hannas@financesociety.ca

Piper Hannas

VP Academic

piper.hannas@financesociety.ca

  Tristan Langlais   Director of Marketing  tristan.langlais@financesociety.ca

Tristan Langlais

Director of Marketing

tristan.langlais@financesociety.ca

 

Finance Society

University of Ottawa

Telfer School of Management

Desmarais Building

Office 2105F

55 Laurier Ave East

Ottawa ON, K1N 6N5

 
 
 

Contact Us

(613) 562-5800, Ext. 4737. 

info@financesociety.ca

Name *
Name