About us

Telfer's top resource for finance opportunities. We aim to expose students to the rapidly expanding finance industry through unique opportunities such as networking events, case competitions, and a trip to Toronto's financial district. With a member base of over 300 students and counting, we bridge top business talents to leading professionals in the field.

 

New

FRESHII.jpg

 

Members get a 10% discount at the Freshii restaurant on campus by showing their membership card and student ID.

Our Events

42225087_1693160647476354_106822601225011200_o.jpg

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Our annual general meeting is perfect way  to meet our executive team and get more information about all the events we have programmed for our students. Our 2018 Annual General Meeting will be on September 19th. 

 

42917049_1706896016102817_1129074132487503872_o.jpg

SPeaker series

Our Speaker Series welcomes leading professionals and educators from several institutions to share their knowledge and experiences with eager students. The event begins with a Q&A panel of 4 speakers, and then students break into groups to connect with each speaker through speed networking. Our Speaker Series will occur on October 1st, 2018.

 

Toronto Trip

Our 2018 Toronto Trip will take place on November 22th-24th. It gives our members a chance to visit several major financial firms in the area. This is an opportunity to get a first-hand look at potential positions in the financial industry, and helps them make career choices.

TD X TFS case competition

Our annual TFS Case Competition is an inter-universities case competition organized and hosted by the Finance Society. The competition invites top business students from renowned universities across Canada such as McGill and Waterloo. The competition also draws exposure from a wide variety of businesses and has welcomed many elite industry executives.

 

Resources

Here at the The Telfer Finance Society, we assist our students and help them perform at the highest financial level possible.

 
 
375720_10100708138877026_969389907_n.jpg

Telfer Finance LAB

The financial research and learning lab is a high quality learning environment and a data resource centre used to support research and experiential learning at the University of Ottawa. The Lab is designed to emulate a laboratory professional trading features and real-time industry-standard products in public and private environments where finance is practiced.

 
BreakingBayStreet-Header-1024x131-1.jpg

BREAKING BAY STREET 

Saying you want to be an investment banker is one thing… getting a job offer is another. To come out a winner, you need to get an edge on your competition. That’s why BreakingBayStreet was created, a hub for aspiring capital markets professionals offering every resource you could possibly need to prepare for interviews. 

Thank you to our 2018-2019 sponsors!

Gold

 
TD.jpg
 

Bronze

CPAlogo.png
CLV Group logo.jpg
 
CFA.jpg
Michael Christie   President  president@financesociety.ca

Michael Christie

President

president@financesociety.ca

Avnish Romooah   VP Finance  avnish.romooah@financesociety.ca

Avnish Romooah

VP Finance

avnish.romooah@financesociety.ca

Anya Ryskal   VP Sponsorship  anya.ryskal@financesociety.ca

Anya Ryskal

VP Sponsorship

anya.ryskal@financesociety.ca

Dominic Matthews   VP Events  dominic.matthews@financesociety.ca

Dominic Matthews

VP Events

dominic.matthews@financesociety.ca

Tristan Huynh   VP Events  tristan.huynh@financesociety.ca

Tristan Huynh

VP Events

tristan.huynh@financesociety.ca

Jenna Ackroyd-Snider   VP Academics  jenna.ackroydsnider@financesociety.ca

Jenna Ackroyd-Snider

VP Academics

jenna.ackroydsnider@financesociety.ca

Laurelle Whalley   VP Internal Affairs  laurelle.whalley@financesociety.ca

Laurelle Whalley

VP Internal Affairs

laurelle.whalley@financesociety.ca

Samuel Gaudet   Director of Events  samuel.gaudet@financesociety.ca

Samuel Gaudet

Director of Events

samuel.gaudet@financesociety.ca

Jenny Wu   VP Marketing  jenny.wu@financesociety.ca

Jenny Wu

VP Marketing

jenny.wu@financesociety.ca

Piper Hannas   Strategic Consultant  piper.hannas@financesociety.ca

Piper Hannas

Strategic Consultant

piper.hannas@financesociety.ca

Adir Baxi   Director of Marketing  adir.baxi@financesociety.ca

Adir Baxi

Director of Marketing

adir.baxi@financesociety.ca

Georgi Hannas   Strategic Consultant  georgi.hannas@financesociety.ca

Georgi Hannas

Strategic Consultant

georgi.hannas@financesociety.ca

Finance Society

University of Ottawa

Telfer School of Management

Desmarais Building

Office 2105F

55 Laurier Ave East

Ottawa ON, K1N 6N5

 
 
 

Contact Us

(613) 562-5800, Ext. 4737. 

info@financesociety.ca

Name *
Name